Young and upcoming goalkeeper George Legg was full of praise for his former loan club, Hungerford Town as he was recalled early by his parent club Reading.

“My time at Hungerford was brilliant, I was welcomed to the club by staff , players and fans. It’s a fantastic club  to be at and I’m glad I was part of it.”

Legg also heaped praise on to manager Bobby Wilkinson for progressing his development as a player.

“I really think the loan turned me from a boy to a man. Both on and off the field and I’ll forever be grateful to Bobby for that!”

He was thankful and honoured to have represented a club with great fans and wished them the best for the season.

“I just want to say a massive thank you for all the support you gave myself and the team this season. You are an incredible bunch that welcomed me with open arms. Keep pushing the team to promotion. Big thank you again!”

Legg who’s footballing idol also admits he was upset at being called back prematurely from his loan spell with the club but is excited to see what the future brings back at Reading.

“I don’t know how to describe how I am feeling about the situation I am upset that I won’t be playing every week with Hungerford. But I’m happy on the other hand because it’s a new journey for me. So I will keep working hard and see what happens.”

With Reading second choice goalkeeper Anssi Jaakkola out injured, Legg would have been surprised to find himself in the squad with the first team for the Championship’s team against Sheffield Wednesday on Friday.

Legg admits that the loan spells he has been on in his career have been a valuable learning curve for  his development as a player. ”

“For me the best thing to do for a youngster is to go out on loan if your not playing.. training is good an all but you need to get game time and if your not playing at your club get out and get games.”

The goalkeeper is looking forward to learning the new style that Jaap Stam has brought to play off hopeful’s Reading and continuing to enjoy his football back at the club he has been with for 4 years now.

“My aim is to just to keep working hard in training and start to get a feel of how the new gaffer wants us to play and just carrying on enjoying my football.”

With Legg travelling as part of the first team squad it shows how far the youngster has come in his career, with his proudest moment to date being when he represented the Royals at Under 16 level (Wasn’t professionally signed for Reading at the time) in front of a packed stadium against Watford. Legg played well and has cherished the moment ever since.

“When I was 16 (wasn’t signed at reading yet) but played a game at the stadium for Reading vs Watford and it was a full stadium as they were doing celebrations for getting promoted! Played really well and was a magical moment one I won’t ever forget.”

So Legg will be looking to continue his develop back at Reading by trying to establish himself in the first team with the Championship club but he wouldn’t be where he is now without developing at Hungerford Town, a club which will remain with him for the rest of his career.

 

 

 

 

 

