Former Reading midfielder Samuel Fridjonsson paid tribute to the late Reading FC academy manager, Eamonn Dolan describing him “as a great mentor and coach.”

“Eamonn Dolan was a great man with a fantastic personality, he was a great mentor and a coach not only in football but in life as well! He was the one who brought me to reading back in 2012-13 season! He was special and I learnt a lot from him! And i will be forever thankful for the things he did for me.”

Fridjonsson went on to represent the Reading Under 21’s side for a further 3 years and stated that his proudest moment was whilst playing with the Royals.

“The best best moment that will always be best one is when we beat Liverpool at the Madejski stadium in the quarter finals in the fa youth cup, that was unreal, and I can say that I speak for my friends that played in that game that this was so special.”

The Icelandic Under 21’s international left Reading and was soon picked up by Norwegian club  Vålerenga who play in the top flight in Norway.

Fridjonsson has quickly established a place in the first team and was always keen to experience playing abroad and is looking forward to playing at a high level in Europe.

“Playing abroad is great being a professional football player is something that i have wished for since day one. in every way its different by countries England the football there is really aggressive and quick and really good quality, where I am now at Vålerenga I can say the same its a top club in the Norwegian premier league a club that will be fighting for a European qualifier spot. The tempo is high and as I said above the quality is always good when you play on a high level.”

The Icelander who turned 21 last month wants to continue his promising start to his career and maintain a place in the starting line up at Vålerenga.

“For the season coming now my aim is to be in the starting line up and play every single game and to score some goals and assist as much as I can.”

Samuel is currently injured but hopes to take the form he had before his injury into his international performances, and aims to break into the senior national team in the near future.

“I have played with every single age group with Iceland Under 17s,19s,21s and I’m still in the Under 21s now, but for the 1st team I think I have a really good chance of breaking into the team as soon as I get back fit from my injury. I know I will have to work hard and earn my place as you do wherever you play.

With the midfielder still at the young age of 21, Fridjonsson will be looking to follow in the footsteps of his footballing hero Ronaldinho.

“I am a box to box player in the midfield, I can play in any position but my best is the number 8.

My idol in football is Ronaldinho and will always be, he is the greatest.”

Fridjonsson and Vålerenga will be looking to kick their season off with a win against Viking FK on Monday April 3rd in which it will be Fridjonsson’s first full season with the Norwegian club.

 

 

