Up and coming Birmingham City defender Steve Seddon is looking to build on his performances for the Under 23’s side so far this season.

The left back who signed a professional aged 18, admitted that signing a professional deal still is one of the most proud moments of his career.

“I was 16 when I joined Birmingham and yes I signed a 2 year professional deal aged 18. Signing my pro deal at Birmingham has been the best moment of my career so far because I dreamt of signing a professional deal and being classed as a professional footballer since I was very young!”

Seddon, 19, has played for a number of clubs before joining Birmingham when he was 16 including Twyford, Swansea and Reading.

“I played for Twyford Comets when I was younger (played 2 years up for my brothers team) and then signed for Reading Academy at under 11 level.

But surprisingly the youngster didn’t continue his footballing career with Swansea, despite playing for the club in a trial game, instead being signed by Birmingham.

“I then represented Swansea City in a trial game aged 16 after I left Reading, and then I signed a week later for Birmingham!”

He also wants to break into the Birmingham first team within the next 2 seasons, in a career that hasn’t seen Seddon go out on loan like many other young players do.

“My aim is to continue playing for the under 23’s and try to push on to get closer/into the first team.”

The youngster is open to the option of going on loan if it is to help his development in football.

“I haven’t been out on loan yet but it’s definitely an option for the future!”

Seddon could however follow in the footsteps of former team mate and Premier League winner, Demarai Gray who didn’t go on loan in his career. Seddon confirmed that Gray is still the best player he has played with in his career so far.

“Demarai Gray is the best player I’ve played with whilst I was training with him regularly when he was at Birmingham in the early stages of career.”

Seddon and his Birmingham Under 23 team mates will be looking for a positive result when they travel to Sheffield United on Thursday evening.

 

