Bristol Ladies are preparing for their upcoming season in the Women’s Super League and defender Ellie Wilson is looking forward to her first full season with the club.

The right back who has represented England at Under 19’s and Under 20’s was previously at Reading and was originally planning to move to Bristol on a loan but the transfer turned into permanent move.

“No I haven’t been on loan in my career. I was going to as I didn’t initially want to leave Reading but ended up fully moving to Bristol which was fine anyway!”

Wilson, 19, was very patient in her time at Reading as she made her way through the different stages of the women’s teams to ultimately make her first appearance for the Royals.

“I was at Reading for most of my younger playing years. They scouted me and within 4 years of training with their development team I got in. I then left for one season to play for the Middlesex FA aged 16 before returning to Reading to play for college, reserves and then the first team before joining Bristol full time in January 2015.”

It was at Reading where Wilson received her first call up to the England youth sides and she admitted that she was surprised to get the call up.

“My first call up for England I was buzzing didn’t expect it at all but it finally started to feel like the hard work was paying off and I could get to where I want to go! I was nervous as well but really proud and couldn’t wait to see what it was all about!”

Wilson who joined Bristol City aged 18 acknowledges that it will be a tough first season but is optimistic about the teams chances this season if they play to the best of their ability.

“It will definitely be a massive step up but a challenge that we want to make the most of and show we can compete with. We had a great season last year and can only get better so we won’t let that phase us going into big games, otherwise you could say every game is a big game. It will just be a different challenge and its definitely something to look forward to and be excited about.”

Bristol were promoted from the WSL2 last season and Wilson feels as though it was one of her most proud moments in her career so far.

“Winning promotion against Everton last season is one of my proudest moments so far. Everyone worked so hard all season and so hard leading up to that one game, then to actually win even though everything seemed against us was just unreal!

I can’t even describe it really because there was so much pressure round the game and in the build up was the most we had ever felt!”

Wilson is excited about the challenge ahead and is looking forward to competing with the biggest names in women’s football with a team that is itching to get the season underway.

“I think the team is coming on really well through pre season, it seems to be improving as the weeks go by and we are such a tight group anyway-that just adds to it! We wanted all last season to get into the top league so now we want to prove we should be there and compete with the big names. We definitely want to set a good foundation in the spring series and build on it in the actual season.”

With Bristol suffering a narrow 2-1 defeat to Manchester City in the women’s FA Cup last weekend, Wilson and her team mates will be looking to start life in the WSL with a win against Reading on the 22nd April.

