“The Gaffer is a all round character has great humour which always helps on a personal level away from football”

Solihull Moors midfielder Shepherd Murombedzi was full of praise for manager Liam McDonald on a season that has been full of up’s and down’s in recent weeks.

“In the changing room he’s calm and gets his ideas across to the players well, he’ll come and sit next to you and give you individual information which he wants you to carry out onto the pitch which is great as you always know what he wants and demands from you. You literally have no excuses to mess up.”

Murombedzi has been absent from the team for a few weeks due to injury but is focused on remaining positive in tough situations when you get setbacks in a player’s career.

“I’m sure everyone faces constant set backs all the time it’s just all about how you deal with them I’ve learned to just always aim to see the positives in any situation that’s helped me keep moving forward with the right attitude.”

The 22 year old whose main position is as a central midfielder has represented Manchester United, Torquay, Reading and Solihull Moors.

It was at Reading where Murombedzi made his name when he was signed up as a 12 year old with the Berkshire based club. The youngster also represented Manchester United at the age of 14 at the Nike World Cup in which Murombedzi described as one of his best experiences to date.

“I signed for reading at Under 12 age group, I played for Manchester United when I was 14 at the Nike World Cup which was a tournament where the best teams from each country that year had to qualify to come and play. The tournament was held at Carrington- Man Utd’s training ground. Up there with one of the best experiences I’ve had so far!”

But it was with the Reading Under 21’s team where he has experienced his proudest moment of his career in the win against Yeovil on penalties and expressed his pleasure at playing against a league side and developing as a footballer.

“My proudest moment has to be the cup run we had, beating Yeovil being 2-0 down in the first game then second game winning in penalties was definitely a great experience as I had never played into extra time before and was also good to play against a league side to see for myself where I’m at in terms of being at that level above I was happy with how it went!”

And the Zimbabwean born midfielder was thankful to former team mate Courtney Richards who helped him during his time at the club with issues both on and off the pitch.

“Courtney Richards is my best friend in football, I met him through my time at Torquay, he looked after me whilst I was there learned and got a lot of help from him with issues on and off the pitch and we still remain in contact till today he’s like a big brother to me.”

Murombedzi also felt that it is vital for younger players to get first team experience at lower league sides to develop physically and mentally as a footballer in the early stages of their careers.

“I definitely find it more competitive and more realistic as you are fighting for points and also fighting to stay in the team. I feel when you get to that stage there’s less room for errors as it could cost you not just your position but possibly your job.

All young players should go on loan, doesn’t have to be in the league can be even conference south, there’s a lot of hungry players wanting to get in the league so it’s not an easy place to play.”

Shepherd is looking to build on a positive season with Solihull Moors and get amongst the goalscorers more regularly in his new position further up the field.

“I feel I’ve had a good season but it’s not over yet would like to get some goals as I’m playing in a more advanced position now as one of the front 3.”

Murombedzi praised the Solihull Moors supporters for their support for the team and himself on the team’s survival this season in the National League.

“Thank you for your support this season it’s played a big part in us putting good performances and results to keep us in this league where you all rightfully deserve to be so thank you a thousand times over!”

