Lincoln City defender Sean Long is looking forward to his new start at newly promoted Lincoln City.

Long, 22, spent the back end of last season with the Imps who gained promotion from the National League with a staggering 99 points accumulated over the season.

This was largely down to  both the impressive squad and the management of the Cowley brothers who found fame after Lincoln’s memorable FA Cup run this season.

The Irish youth international was full of praise for the pair, and is excited to learn more from them next season.

“I love working under Danny Cowley and his brother Nick. I spent 3 months with them on loan last year at Braintree where we also enjoyed a good season that year. So when I got the opportunity to work with them again I was delighted.

There attention to detail is amazing, they never leave no stone unturned. I feel they get the best out of me and I look forward to learning even more from them!”

The youngster expressed his gratitude to be given the chance to feature in such a successful side at Lincoln.

“It was brilliant to be part of such a successful squad. I’m very grateful to be given the opportunity to contribute to what was probably the best season any non league team has ever had.”

He also admitted that the surprise FA Cup run was always a bonus with the league being the main priority for the Imps.

“We always said the FA Cup was a bonus as our main focus was getting promoted. But to say we would go onto beat the likes of Ipswich, Brighton, Burnley and then enjoy a special occasion against Arsenal at the Emirates is something I’ll never forget.”

Long signed a one-year deal with Danny Cowley’s side this summer after previously being on loan from Championship side Reading.

He made his first team debut in a 1-0 over Scunthorpe in the EFL Cup (Then Capital One Cup) but failed to nail down a place in the first team squad.

“Of course you’d be disappointed not to nail down my place in Reading’s first team. There has been a lot of changes over the years which maybe didn’t help, however I’ve no bad feelings whatsoever.

I met some great people there and learned so much as a player and I wish them all the best in the future.”

The right back is still in contact with his best friends in football, Shane Griffin and Pierce Sweeney.

“My 2 best mates would be Shane Griffin (@Shane_Griff)  and Pierce Sweeney (@piercesweenz) . Both are top lads from Ireland who played at Reading with me. I’m delighted to see them both doing well.”

And it was at Reading where he was part of the side that won the Premier League Cup, a team that was managed by the late Eamonn Dolan.

“What a brilliant man Eamonn Dolan was He has done so much for so many people both in football and outside of football including myself.

I was devastated when I heard the news that he passed but he will be remembered forever. My favourite memory was just being able to share celebrating winning the under 21’s Premier League Cup.”

Away from the action on the field, Long finds it tough at times to be away from his family, who he is extremely close with.

“My inspiration has to be my dad Damien. To see how hard he works and what he does for my family is amazing. The advice he gives me is always right although I don’t admit it all of the time!

Being away from home is tough as I’m a real family person. But the thought of being able make them proud through playing football is something which drives me even more.”

Sean and his Lincoln team mates are looking forward to next season and working hard in pre-season.

“We are all really looking forward to next season. The manager and Nick will have us working really hard in pre-season to ensure we are ready for what I’m sure will be another great season!”

And he has a message for the Lincoln fans in his first full season at the club this season.

“To the fans of Lincoln I would just like to thank them firstly for the unbelievable support which you gave the team this year and secondly for welcoming me into the football club. I want to continue the success we are having at the club and I’ll be working hard to play my part and make that happen. WE ARE ON OUR WAY!”

You can follow Sean’s progress at Lincoln here! @Longyy32

 

 

 

 

 

