Britain’s Anna Smith is looking to upset the odds with her doubles partner Nicole Melicher at Wimbledon on Wednesday.

Smith, 28, who is originally from Surrey, faces a tough first round match against Svetlana Kuznetsova and Kristina Mladenovic who will be one of the favourites for the doubles title.

Smith and Melicher will be looking to repeat the success they had in May when they won their first WTA title in Germany. A title in which Smith described as one of the proudest moments of her career.

“Winning my first WTA title in Germany in May (is my proudest moment), I had been trying to win a title my whole career so to eventually win one after losing 4 finals meant a lot!”

The pair won the title in Nuremburg, beating Johanna Larsson and Kirsten Flipkens in a hard fought 3 set win.

It was the first win the pair have won together, with it being the first doubles win for Smith since her win in Glasgow in early February with partner at the time, Jocelyn Rae, who remains one of Smith’s closest friends in tennis.

Smith has now been playing tennis for 18 years since she first started playing at the early age of 10 and is coached by Ian Macdonald from Team Bath where she currently trains.

“I started when I was 10 and I just saw tennis on the TV and told my parents I wanted to give it a try and went from there!”

She is keen to add to her title in Germany for the tennis season this summer and continue her good form in the doubles game.

“My aim is to win another title, get into Zhuhai and finish the year on a career high.”

And Smith is not fazed by the challenge ahead at Wimbledon and is excited to be playing in front of a home crowd at SW17.

“I’m feeling excited and looking forward to playing in the best tournament in the world in front of a home crowd!”

You can follow Anna’s progress in the tournament in her first round game tomorrow on BBC 2 and on the BBC website.

And you can follow her individual progress on Twitter here! (@anna_smith1488)

 

 

