“At times it does get tough but as soon as the games come and matchdays come, as soon as you go over the white line, you completely forget about it all”.

Billericay defender Dean Inman admits that it does get tough when he is faced with numerous questions regarding the club’s future, but is adamant that he is fully focused on positive performances for the National League South side. Owner Glenn Tamplin has revealed he is searching for a new boss after Harry Wheeler took over at Maidstone United this week.

“It’s a nice relief to have, as football is massive for me and you forget about everything for 90 minutes. It’s the same with the off field things, as soon as that whistle goes, I don’t think one player on the pitch will be thinking, what’s going on with the club today! We focus on the game and after that, you might start thinking and talking about it again.”

This will be Inman’s second season with Billericay, after he signed for them in October 2017 for a club record fee from Maidenhead United.

The central defender admitted there was some pressure to justify his hefty price tag but remained confident after owner Glenn Tamplin showed his faith in Inman.

“In a way yes there was pressure, but I knew if I played to how I could then Glenn would be more than happy because that’s the reason why he signed me, is from watching me and seeing how I played.

“I just thought I’ve got to go in and carry on doing what I’ve been doing and everything else will fall into place”.

Inman made the bold move to leave Maidenhead who (at the time) were playing two divisions above Billericay and felt as though the Essex-based club were certainly moving in the right direction.

“It was the vision from where Glenn wanted to go with the club and I’ve always wanted to be part of a club, you watch AFC Wimbledon and how they’ve gone up through the leagues and I thought it’s a great chance to get the club up the leagues as high as possible.

“In the first season we managed to win the league when I was there so it’s all going to plan so far. We’re second in the South division so we’ve certainly got a good chance of being up there again this year!”

Billericay currently sit second in the National League South as they look for back-to-back promotions and this would be a landmark promotion for Inman if they were to achieve it this season.

“For me it would be my hat trick of promotions! There’s not many players who will get three promotions in three years so promotion is something that I’m definitely aiming for this season.”

The Blues have had a number of high-profile players play for the club since Inman has arrived and he revealed that it was surreal seeing the likes of Jamie O’Hara at first.

“They’re very grounded guys and they give 100% week in, week out, and they’re obviously very very good footballers. They are footballers that I’ve grown up watching on TV so yes it was a bit surreal at first but seeing them everyday when we’re training and to see how hard they work, it’s good and refreshing to see that they’re still hungry to win football matches.”

One team mate of Inman’s that has made his name in the lower tiers of English football is Jake Robinson. The striker notched an incredible 57 goals in all competitions last year as Billericay won promotion to the National League South and Inman is expecting him to replicate that form this season.

“He’s started off on absolute flames! At the moment I think he’s 9 or 10 already this year! He was phenomenal last year and I’ve played against him a few times earlier in my career when he was at Hemel Hempstead and Whitehawk and it was always a tough match. Playing with him in your team and having him in your team is nice because you haven’t got to chase him for 90 minutes!”

You can check out my interview with Jake here! 

Billericay have been managed by both Harry Wheeler and Glen Tamplin this season and Inman felt that they complimented each other well due to their different approaches to management.

“They’re very different managers! Glenn is more motivational with his speeches that will get you going and get you up for it. Harry is more reserved and very good with tactics and the opposition.

“He’ll talk to you one on one after he’s done the team, tell you what the other teams threats are and who they’ve got playing up against you so it’s very different but it worked because of how different they are! It’s been very good playing under both of them.

Harry has since moved on to Maidstone United this week with Glenn still in charge of Billericay as they continue their journey up the football league ladder.

Dean had a message for the Billericay fans as they continue to play a huge part in the team’s success this season.

“They’ve been brilliant! Ever since I came to the club, they’ve welcomed me with open arms and I’ve been lucky enough to be part of the team in their treble winning season in my first season so hopefully we can build on that with more successes in the future!”

Inman and his team mates face Dartford at home this Saturday where they will be looking to put the pressure on top of the table Woking.

You can follow Dean on his Twitter here! (@deaninman1990)

And follow me to keep up to date with all of my articles that go live! (@pott95)